Jeff Hall receives Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm. Dr. Jeff Hall was an adjunct faculty member at the School of Biology and Ecology in 2005-2012. His primary academic affiliation was with Brandeis University. However, Jeff was also appointed a Libra Professor at UMaine in 2008-09, during which he taught BIO 462, Principles of Genetics. He also co-taught BIO 591, Neurogenetics, with Dusty Dowse.