2016 School of Biology and Ecology Student Awards, Prizes, and Scholarships

SBE Academic Awards
Highest GPA in a major within the School

First Year

Katherine Evans
Lucia Guarnieri
Emily Gagne


Jackson Foley
Callie Greco
Jacqueline Lambert


Sigrid Koizar
Kaitlin Clark
Haley Netherton


Elizabeth Wood
Erik Holmsen

School of Biology & Ecology

Academic Achievement Award
Awarded to the graduating senior having the highest GPA

Anne Yu

Richard C. Wadsworth Annual Memorial Prize
Awarded to the highest-ranking junior or senior enrolled in the MLS program

Hannah Gowen

Dahl-Chase Pathology Associates Medical Technology Scholarship
Awarded to an outstanding MLS student who attended a Maine High School

Emily St. Pierre

Frank H. Lathrop Scholarship

Awarded to high-achieving juniors and continuing seniors who are Maine residents majoring in Biological Sciences

Cordell Beaton
Sarah Holbrook

Wayland A. Shands Scholarship Fund

Awarded to a student of Entomology with high academic standing

Eric Bastidas

Auburn E. and Lurana C. Brower Scholarship

Awarded to an outstanding junior with an interest in Entomology

 Chase Gagne

Fay Hyland-Hilborn Prize in Plant Biology

 Alex Bajcz

Graduate Prize in Animal Biology

 Justin Lewin

Edith M. Patch – Frank H. Lathrop

Prize in Entomology

Jack McLachlan

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

 Heather Arnett

SBE Graduate Student Travel Award

Alex Bajcz
Jessica Haghkerdar

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture Awards

Frank B. and Charles S. Bickford Prize
Awarded to an outstanding graduating senior in the College of Natural Sciences, Food, and Agriculture

 Elizabeth E. Wood