School of Biology and Ecology’s Seventh Annual Awards Ceremony!

Photo from award receptionOn April 25th, The School of Biology & Ecology held their seventh annual award’s ceremony in 102 Murray Hall, which recognized undergraduate and graduate students, as well as faculty, for their hard work and commitment to their academic endeavors.  During the ceremony, Dr. Ellie Groden, director of the School of Biology & Ecology, and Dr. Christa Schwintzer, presented student awards, prizes, and scholarships to the recipients

SBE Academic Awards, which are given to students with the highest GPA in a major within the School, were given to the following recipients:

First Year

 Nicole B. Keefner

Danielle Li

Haley K. Netherton


 Victoria L. Gagnon

Elizabeth E. Wood

Anne Yu


 James M. Poulin


 Eric L. Bolduc

Emily E. Stevens

James Poulin
SBE undergraduate student, James Poulin, receiving his academic award.

School of Biology & Ecology Academic Achievement Award: Awarded to the graduating senior having the highest GPA

Jinlun Bai

Richard C. Wadsworth Annual Memorial Prize: Awarded to the highest-ranking junior or senior enrolled in the CLS program

Lauren H. Hain

Dahl-Chase Pathology Associates Medical Technology Scholarship: Awarded to an outstanding CLS student who attended a Maine High School

Todd A. Nicholas

Frank H. Lathrop Scholarship: Awarded to high achieving juniors and continuing seniors who are Maine residents majoring in Biological Sciences.

Alexandra J. Perry

Andrew A. Vetter

Andrew B. Wilson

Wayland A. Shands Scholarship Fund: Awarded to a student of Entomology with high academic standing

Eric M. Veitch

Auburn E. and Lurana C. Brower Scholarship: Awarded to an outstanding junior with an interest in Entomology

Hillary Morin

Clarence Cook Little Scholarship: Awarded to a student of high academic achievement with an interest in genetics.

Courtney A. Horton

Fay Hyland-Hilborn Prize in Plant Biology: Awarded to the outstanding graduate student in Plant Biology or Plant Pathology

Ai Kitazumi

Graduate Prize in Animal Biology: Awarded to the outstanding graduate student in Animal Biology

Jennifer McCabe

Edith M. Patch-Frank H. Lathrop Prize in Entomology

Jennifer Lund

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award

Zachary A. Batz

Jonathan Dumont

SBE Graduate Student Travel Award

Jared Homola

Matthew Altenritter

Congratulation to all award recipients!